The Oregon Symphony Association in Salem Announces 2016-17 Season Line Up

OrSymphony_courtesy Or Symphony Assoc in Salem

Concert Series Kicks off October 28 with Halloween-inspired “Hauntcert”


The Oregon Symphony Association in Salem (OSAS) kicks off their 2016-17 season six concert lineup on Friday, October 28th, starting at 8 pm with a special “Hauntcert.”  Get ready for an evening of musical thrills and chills featuring Bach’s Toccata and Fugue in D Minor, Prokofiev’s almost demonic “Fiery Angel,” and, on the lyrical side, Barber’s gorgeously melodic Violin Concerto featuring world-renowned guest artist Joseph Swensen. The audience is encouraged to come dressed in costume as there will be a costume contest for all ages at intermission.

Single ticket prices range from $35 – $50. Student tickets are $10 each with valid I.D. Season tickets are also available and OSAS is currently offering a Buy One Get One Half Price (BOGO) deal for new season subscribers or former patrons whose subscription has lapsed two years or more.

For more information or to purchase tickets, go to or call (503) 364-0149.

The 2016-17 OSAS Season Line Up
Friday, October 28: Barber’s Violin Concerto. Carlos Kalmar, conductor. Joseph Swenson, violin.
Friday, November 18: Stephen Hough Plays Saint-Saëns. Ludovic Morlot, conductor. Stephen Hough, piano.
Friday, January 6: Nadja and the Four Seasons. Nadja Salerno-Sonnenberg, conductor and violin.
Friday, February 3: Dvořák’s New World Symphony. Carlos Kalmar, conductor. Yefin Bronfman, piano.
Friday, March 31: Mozart Violin Concerto No. 3. Carlos Kalmar, conductor. William Hagen, violin.
Friday, April 21. Debussy’s La Mer. Jun Märkl, conductor. Simone Lamsma, violin.

All 2016-17 concerts begin at 8 p.m. and are held Willamette University’s Smith Auditorium in Salem (900 State Street). Founded in 1955, the Oregon Symphony Association in Salem presents Oregon Symphony and other high-caliber concerts each season at Willamette University’s Smith Auditorium. For 60 years, OSAS has worked to bring world-class music and culture right to your doorstep.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.